Who We Are

About Us - About

Group 21 Rugby League is a local rugby league competition, run under the control of the NSW Rugby League. It covers the Upper Hunter area of New South Wales, and has four divisions, first grade, reserves, Under 18s and Ladies League Tag. For sponsorship reasons, it is known as the Bengalla Hunter Valley Group 21 Competition

It is part of the Greater Northern Region conference, along with the Group 4 and Group 19 competition.

Brief History

The Scone Thoroughbreds have won the most titles, winning 34 titles, and are considered one of the most successful country rugby league teams.

From 2006, the Greta-Branxton Colts will play in the competition, although Cessnock and Newcastle leagues objected to the idea. In 2009, the Raymond Terrace Magpies (no longer part of the competition) joined the group from Newcastle Rugby League, citing financial difficulties involved in playing in the larger competition. Budgewoi Buff Point RLFC (no longer part of the competition) have also joined the Under 18s competition.